MOZART, W.A.: Violin Concertos Nos. 3, 4 and 5 / Adagio, K. 261 (Kraggerud, Norwegian Chamber Orchestra)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Violin Concerto No. 3 in G Major, K. 216
Violin Concerto No. 4 in D major, K. 218
Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K. 219, "Turkish"
Adagio in E major, K. 261

Venue: Akershus Castle Church, Slottskirke, Oslo
Playing Time: 01:37:38
Television Director: Lewis, Sean
Catalogue Number: 2.110368
UPC: 747313536856

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote his Violin Concertos in 1775 while still living in his home town of Salzburg and in service to Prince-Archbishop Hieronymus Colloredo. Mozart had already toured internationally and found his parochial environment restricting, but as ever he rose above circumstances to create sublime and thrillingly unconventional masterpieces filled with wit and charm. The finely sustained melodic expression of each concerto's slow centre provides the perfect foil for Inventive sparkle in outer movements that include a cheeky reference to the opera Il re pastore, K. 216, and an exotic moment in the finale of Violin Concerto No. 5 in A Major, K. 219, "Turkish"

Part 1

Select language: