Vocal Recital: Scotto, Renata - HANDEL, G.F. / SCARLATTI, A. / ROSSINI, G. / VERDI, G. / LISZT, F. / RESPIGHI, O. (The 1984 Tokyo Recital)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Show/Hide Performers

Verdi, Giuseppe - Composer
Liszt, Franz - Composer
Puccini, Giacomo - Composer
Mascagni, Pietro - Composer

Venue: Kan'i Hoken Hall, Gotanda
Playing Time: 01:24:35
Catalogue Number: 33607
UPC: 8007144336073

The recital featured on this video dates back to 1984 and photographs a Renata Scotto in her full artistic maturity. At the time of the singer was 50 years old, 32 of which she spent on stage. The programme is vast and varied in epochs, styles and composers and shows the elasticity of an artistic of solid technique gifted with absolutely extraordinary musicality.

Alongside famous pages of opera, like Lascia ch'io pianga from Handel's Rinaldo or Tu che la vanita from Verdi's Don Carlo, Renata Scotto tackles lesser-known pages, like the beautiful Petrarchan sonnets by Franz Liszt in 1844/45. Here perhaps the artist gives the best of herself, exhibiting a palette of colours that is truly rich in nuances and dazzling control of vocal emission. At the end of this demanding programme, based chiefly on chamber music, Renata Scotto offers four encores, tow of which are dedicated to Puccini operas Tosca and Butterfly shrewdly kept back for a grand finale.

Part 1

Select language: