PROKOFIEV, S.: Igrok (The Gambler), Op. 24 (Staatsoper Unter den Linden, 2008)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Igrok (The Gambler), Op. 24

Venue: Staatsoper Unter den Linden, Berlin
Playing Time: 02:16:10
Catalogue Number: A05016762

Based on Dostroyevsky's novel of the same name, The Gambler is a dark study of human failings and the corruptive power of money. In this work, everyone gambles: the hero Alexey, the General and even the wealthy aunt Babulenka. Blanche, the Marquis and Polina - who loves Alexey - gamble with their fellow human beings. The results are humiliation, ruin and self-delusion. But when the Staatskapelle Berlin under the world-famous conductor Daniel Barenboim provide the orchestral sound to the full, lustrous voices of Vladimir Ognovenko, Kristine Opolais, Misha Didyk, Stefania Toczyska and their colleagues, there is nothing even remotely dismal about the opera or its production.

Part 1

Select language: