TAKEMITSU, T.: From me flows what you call time / SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: Symphony No. 5 (Yutaka Sado)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Sado, Yutaka

Takemitsu, Toru - Composer

Venue: Philharmonie, Berlin
Date of Concert: 20-05-2011
Playing Time: 01:47:10
Television Director: Beyer, Michael
Catalogue Number: EUROARTS5874

This debut concert performance with the Berliner Philharmoniker by the Japanese conductor Yutaka Sado was hailed in the press as a triumph. The musicians decided to raise funds for the relief efforts following the cataclysmic earthquake and tsunami that struck Japan in March 2011. The program consists of From me flows what you call time, a perfect blend of East and West, by Japan's most enduring composer Toru Takemitsu; and Dmitry Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony, which so successfully blends the demands of the Soviet authorities with the oppressed public's need for an emotional outlet.

Part 1

Part 2

Select language: