BACH, J.S.: Brandenburg Concertos Nos. 1-6 (Goltz)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Soloist: Perl, Hille

Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046
Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050
Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B flat major, BWV 1051
Cello Suite No. 5 in C minor, BWV 1011
Schweigt stille, plaudert nicht, BWV 211, "Coffee Cantata"

Venue: Cothen Palace
Date of Concert: 26-03-2000
Playing Time: 01:35:00
Television Director: Hadulla, Hans
Documentary Title: Back(h) in Cothen
Catalogue Number: EuroArts5031
UPC: 880242503169

When Bach was in the service of Prince Leopold in Cöthen, he had his own orchestra and was contracted to compose a great deal of instrumental music. This gave him an opportunity to try new techniques and to develop his own instrumental style. The six Brandenburg Concertos belongs to these masterpieces for a small ensemble. This joyously infectious performance of these famous landmarks in the history of music by the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra demonstrates both the musical satisfaction and the high professional standard that can be reached with period instruments. The performance was given in the Bach Anniversary Year 2000 – 250 years after his death – in the elegant Hall of Mirrors at Cöthen Castle. The Freiburg Baroque Orchestra’s members all have virtuoso skills. They take the spotlight gracefully for solos but also play with the true ensemble spirit required by the music. Their decision to perform without a conductor revives an eighteenth century practice.

Bonus features:

Cello Suite No.5, BWV 1011: Sarabande
Hille Perl, viola da gamba

Coffee Cantata, BWV 211: Die Katze lässt das Mausen nicht
Madeleine Vogt, soprano
Matthias Schubotz, tenor
Holger Krause, bass
Members of the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Back(h) in Cöthen

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Select language: