SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: String Quartet No. 8: II. Allegro molto (arr. S. Cox and M. Knight for brass septet) (Septura) (from Naxos 8.573475)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

String Quartet No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 110 (arr. S. Cox and M. Knight for brass septet)
Rowlands, Phil - Producer
Knight, Matthew - Arranger
Cox, Simon - Arranger

Playing Time: 00:03:59
Catalogue Number: NVF0051

Stretching back from the stark Soviet soundscape of Shostakovich, through the early modernism of Prokofiev to the pre-revolutionary opulence of Scriabin and Rachmaninov, Septura redresses a lack of original music for brass by these great composers by charting a turbulent seventy years of Russian history. Brass instruments feature prominently in these composers' symphonic output, and Septura is a natural fit for their chamber music.

Part 1

Select language: