SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk (DNO, 2006)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District, Op. 29
Libretto/Text Author: Preys, Alexander
Libretto Source: Leskov, Nikolai

Boris Timofeyevich Ismailov: Vaneev, Vladimir
Chief of Police: Storojev, Nikita
Katerina Lvovna Ismailova: Westbroek, Eva-Maria
Shabby Peasant: Kravets, Alexandre
Sonyetka: Poulson, Lani
Zinovy Borisovich Ismailov: Ludha, Ludovit

Producer: Petri, Hans
Set/Stage Designer: Zehetgruber, Martin
Costume Designer: Kastler, Heide
Lighting Designer: Traub, Reinhard
Stage Director: Kusej, Martin
DVD Producer: Damme, Ferenc van
Television Director: Grimm, Thomas

Date of Production: 28-06-2006
Venue: Het Muziektheater, Amsterdam
Playing Time: 03:55:44
Catalogue Number: OA0965D
UPC: 809478009658


Shostakovich's musically brilliant and ingeniously panoramic opera about love, lust, power and oppression is fabulously well played by the Concertgebouw Orchestra under Mariss Jansons in this authoritative production. Stage director Martin Kusej builds on formidable musical strengths to forge a relentless drama that explores with emotional conviction the shadowy, layered boundaries between victims and perpetrators. First-rate protagonist Eva-Maria Westbroek is phenomenal in her gripping interpretation of Katarina, compelling the entire cast, including the choir, to almost unbearable realism in their portrayal of timeless human weaknesses.

WARNING: The strengths of this highly acclaimed production are largely due to its brutal and graphic portrayal of human emotions. Please be aware that the production contains stroboscopic light effects, nudity and scenes of a sexual nature.

Bonus features:

- Illustrated Synopsis

- The Tragedy of Katerina Ismailova - A documentary film by Reiner E. Moritz, including interviews with Martin Kusej, Mariss Jansons and leading members of the cast

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Select language: