STRAVINSKY, I.: Rake's Progress (The) (La Monnaie - De Munt, 2007)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
The Rake's Progress
Libretto/Text Author: Auden, Wystan Hugh
Libretto/Text Author: Kallman, Chester
Libretto Source: Hogarth, William
Conductor: Ono, Kazushi

Anne Trulove: Claycomb, Laura
Baba the Turk: Peckova, Dagmar
Keeper of the Madhouse: Torbey, Shadi
Mother Goose: Young, Julianne
Nick Shadow: Shimell, William
Tom Rakewell: Kennedy, Andrew

Set/Stage Designer: Fillion, Carl
Costume Designer: Barbeau, Francois
Lighting Designer: Boucher, Etienne
Stage Director: Lepage, Robert
DVD Producer: Damme, Ferenc van
Television Director: Vlietinck, Benoit

Date of Production: 04-2007
Venue: Theatre Royal de la Monnaie - De Munt
Playing Time: 02:53:57
Catalogue Number: OA0991D
UPC: 809478009917


Stravinsky's masterwork The Rake's Progress, created for La Fenice in Venice in 1951, is based on a libretto by W. H. Auden and Chester Kallman, inspired by a series of 18th century prints by William Hogarth. This amazing production from La Monnaie–De Munt 'jazzifies' the setting by replacing Hogarth's sin city, London, with 1950s Las Vegas, turning it into a glittering, cinematic gallery of tableaux vivants inspired by the early days of television. Staged by one of the most visionary theatre directors of our age, the Quebecois Robert Lepage, the neo-classical morality tale truly becomes a grand spectacle. Lepage's visual imagination works its magic superbly, while Kazushi Ono's energetic musical direction drives the sparkling ensemble to exhilarating heights.

Bonus features:

- Interview with stage director Robert Lepage.

- Behind the scenes and rehearsal footage.

- Illustrated Synopsis

Part 1


Part 2


Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Select language: