MASTERCLASS WITH MIRIAM FRIED - STRAUSS, R.: Violin Sonata, Op. 18: I. Allegro ma non troppo


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Strauss, Richard - Composer
Violin Sonata in E-Flat Major, Op. 18, TrV 151

Lecturer/Violin: Fried, Miriam

Year of Production: Jan. 2012
Playing Time: 00:55:32
Catalogue Number: RSS10115_1

Professor Fried remarks the theatrical character of the piece and compares it with Richard Strauss' Der Rosenkavalier. In this work, it is necessary to have a wider range of energies. In the reprises and the repetitions of the material, it is more interesting to play in a different way.

The student has to be aware of the harmonic changes, as projecting the music. Everything is connected. The phrasing is more open and the colours more exaggerated.

The professor gives advice on bow use, sound, character, chords and vibrato. She also gives some keys about the piece's signification, articulation and rhythm. It needs to be played with more unease.

Part 1

Select language: