MASTERCLASS WITH PETER FRANKL - BEETHOVEN, L. van: Piano Sonata No. 31, Op. 110: I. Moderato cantabile


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Piano Sonata No. 31 in A-Flat Major, Op. 110

Lecturer: Frankl, Peter

Year of Production: July 2004
Playing Time: 00:31:27
Catalogue Number: RSS7434_1

In this masterclass, Peter Frankl makes a point about sound quality (it should be more 'beethovenian'), phrasing, weight and attacks, dynamics, and metric issues, among others. Then he also talks about the melodic identification and the harmonic processes for this movement; as well as about the composing procedures by Beethoven. Afterwards, Professor Frankl gives some indications about expressiveness and he uses the Fugue (fourth movement) and Arioso (third movement) in order to explain the agogics and the freedom of tempo in this kind of harmonies.

Part 1

Select language: